Treaty Relations

April 2013

Building bridges between all communities

Issue link:

Contents of this Issue


Page 2 of 31

ELDERS AND THE TREATY COMMISSION OF MANITOBA The Assembly of Manitoba Chiefs��� (AMC) Council of Elders is fundamental to the work of the Treaty Relations Commission of Manitoba (TRCM). The Elders are historians, teachers, spiritual caregivers, language experts and advisors. With the input, support and guidance of the Elders the TRCM is able to address specific Treaty language and knowledge to ensure deeper understandings in the TRCM research initiatives such as the Manitoba Treaties Oral History Project and the Historical Atlas of First Nations in Manitoba. In addition to the research initiatives the Council of Elders has advised in curriculum development, leadership forums and participated as members of the TRCM Speakers��� Bureau. Elder Wayne Scott (Treaty 1, Naazhikigaabow from the Mashtadim Clan) is from Gaa-biskigamaag. Elder Scott has completed extensive research as a member of a dedicated team in Treaty Land Entitlement (TLE) for his community that was successful in settling the outstanding TLE claim. This work allowed Elder Scott to continue his research and assist other First Nation bands in conducting independent research to file Comprehensive Land Claims. Elder Scott is interested in understanding legislation and policies as they relate and affect Treaty and First Nations rights. Elder Harry Bone (Treaty 2, Giizis-inini from the Mikinaak Clan) is from Giizhigoowining. He is fluent in Ojibway and English. Currently, He is doing research on the original Spirit and Intent of Treaty. He is a member of the AMC/TRCM Elders Council and also a member of the TRCM���s Speakers��� Bureau. Elder Bone���s special interest is the history of Treaties, as well as Federal and Provincial governments. He specializes in the First Nations Government at the Reserve level. Elder Elmer Courchene (Treaty 3) is from the Sagkeeng First Nation in Treaty 1 and 3. He is fluent in the Ojibwe and English. He was instrumental during the Manitoba Indian Brotherhood (precursor to the AMC) in the mid-1960s to the mid-1970s. In 1997, he served as the Elder Advisor and Spiritual Giver to then National Chief Phil Fontaine at the Assembly of First Nations (AFN). He currently sits as the Manitoba Elder representative to the AFN Senator Council. Most recently, he has served as the Elder Advisor to the AMC Executive Council of Chiefs and has been appointed to the AMC Council of Elders. Elder James Cote (Treaty 4, Makade Makwa from the Makwa Clan) is from Wewezhigaabawing. He attended the Birtle and Brandon Residential Schools from 1947 until 1957. He was a Band Councillor for 16 years and Ojibwe language Instructor for two years. Currently, he is enjoying his retirement and sitting on the AMC Council of Elders advising the AMC and TRCM. Elder William G. Lathlin (Treaty 5) turned 70 on Jan. 28, 2011. His first teachers were his parents Liz and George Lathlin and his grandparents Horace Whitehead and Mary Lathlin. He was raised along with three sisters and three brothers in the winter camps and later he was sent to Prince Albert Residential School from 1950-54. He was a band councillor for Opaskwayak for 24 years from 1974 until 1997 and was also Chief of OCN for one term, from 1997 until 1999. He is currently involved with youth issues by promoting education and teaches at the school. He is currently developing a land based/traditional teachings program for disengaged youth in his community. Elder D���Arcy Linklater (Treaty 5 Adhesion, WapiskiwMa���inkan from the Ma���inkan Clan) is from Nisichawayasihk. His great grandfather was Pierre Moose the Chief who made the Adhesion to Treaty 5 with the Crown in Nelson House on July 30, 1908. Linklater has been executive director for his Cree Nation and an elected leader for over 15 years.Elder Linklater has a keen interest in justice and equal rights for his people. He continues to work tirelessly for his people with the aim of combatting injustices and poverty. He seeks sustainable ways to use the natural resources in a way that will provide meaningful opportunity for First Nations people while at the same time providing the protection and respect for the land. Elder Joe Hyslop (Treaty 10) is from the Northlands Denesuline First Nation. His late father was Chief for 27 years for the Barren Lands Band. He is fluent in his first language of Dene and is grateful and continues to cherish his early formative years of education that he credits to his parents and grandfather, the late Donald Tssassaze Sr. Joe went to the Guy Hill Residential School for seven years in The Pas. He worked as a Welfare Administrator for the Barren Lands First Nation and from 1993 to 2010, he entered First Nation politics and served as Councillor and two terms as Chief. As well, he has been involved with the North of 60 Negotiations Team from 1999 and continues to assist. Elder Doris Pratt (Dakota Nations), from Wikoza Wakpa, has dedicated her life to revitalizing and preserving the Dakota language for the benefit of this vibrant and resurgent culture, which she has shared with her three daughters and three sons, encouraging them always to take pride in the gifts of the Dakota language and culture. She has her master���s in education from Brandon University and holds an Educational Specialist degree from the University of Arizona. Elder Pratt has developed a wide range of Dakota language related materials for classroom and home education. There is currently no Elder for Treaty 6. ��� Treaty No. 1 Elder Wayne Scott (Swan Lake) Treaty No. 2 Elder Harry Bone (Keeseekoowenin) Treaty No. 3 Elder Elmer Courchene (Sagkeeng) Treaty No. 4 Elder James Cote (Waywayseecappo) Treaty No. 5 The TRCM works to foster positive inter-governmental relations and co-operation and conducts independent research to advance the discussion surrounding Treaty-related issues. The commission also works to facilitate public understanding of the importance of Treatymaking in building a stronger, healthier nation. ��� Currently vacant Treaty No. 10 The three key focuses of the TRCM are: education, research and facilitation. Elder D���Arcy Linklater (Nisichawayasihk) Treaty No. 6 Created out of a partnership between the Assembly of Manitoba Chiefs (AMC) and the federal government, the Treaty Relations Commission of Manitoba (TRCM) is mandated to rebuild, strengthen and enhance the Treaty relationship the the mutual respect envisaged by the Treaty Parties. Elder William G. Lathlin (Opaskwayak) Treaty No. 5 Adhesion WHAT IS THE TREATY RELATIONS COMMISSION OF MANITOBA? Elder Joe Hyslop (Northlands Denesuline) Dakota Nations Elder Doris Pratt (Sioux Valley) 3

Articles in this issue

Links on this page

Archives of this issue

view archives of Treaty Relations - April 2013